Official Online Store
Steady Ed Memorial Disc Golf Trophy

Steady Ed Memorial Disc Golf Trophy

Steady Ed Memorial Trophy

Steady Ed Memorial Trophy

Created by DGA in the memory of the “Father of Disc Golf” Ed Headrick, the “Steady” Ed Memorial Disc Golf Trophy is awarded yearly to the player who best exemplifies “Steady” Ed’s code of conduct for the sport of Disc Golf. Ed believed that one should “leave things better than you find them” and that“whoever has the most fun, wins”. It is in that spirit that the participants of the yearly Masters Cup tournament will be chosen for the recipient of the “Steady” Ed Memorial Trophy for that year.

Gary Headrick, Ed’s son, has summarized his father’s philosop in these words:

Sometimes it is the small but significant acts of kindness, generosity, integrity or thoughtfulness that ultimately result in not only ‘leaving it better than you found it’ (whatever ‘it’ is), but encourage others by reminding us that sometimes it is the simple things that matter most, things that we are all capable of if we choose to act in a similar way, things that enhance the human spirit a little at a time, giving us a little more of that elusive happiness and inner peace we all seek.

Thus, the player who will be chosen to receive the award will have demonstrated not only talent and proficiency of the sport of disc golf, but also the personal attributes of integrity and generosity of the spirit described above.

Recipients of the “Steady” Ed Memorial Disc Golf Trophy are:

  • 2004 – The inaugural recipient, Ken Climo
  • 2005 – Tom Schot
  • 2006 – Dr. Stancil Johnson
  • 2007 – Des Reading
  • 2008 – Martin Hapner
  • 2009 – Michael Travers
  • 2010 – Brian Graham
  • 2011 – Michael Snap Conger
  • 2012 – The Jenkins Family: Leroy, Sharon, Avery & Valarie
  • 2013 – Charlie Mead

About the Trophy:

Molded from stainless steel and polished to a chrome finish, the “Steady” Ed Memorial Disc Golf Trophy stands fifteen inches high atop its base. The base, created from old growth white oak timbers recycled from a 200-year-old tobacco plantation in Tennessee, stands six inches high and fifteen inches wide and deep. (The use of oak is symbolic of Oak Grove Park, the first formal disc golf course created by Ed.) Each year’s recipient’s name will be added to a metal plate attached to the trophy. The trophy, Ed’s memory and the yearly recipient will become a living historical record for the sport.